Arts Award

         Boundary-breaking architects and University of Texas at Austin School of Architecture alumni Elaine Molinar and Craig Dykers of international firm Snøhetta received the Texas Medal of Arts Award for Architecture at the Texas Cultural Trust’s awards show and gala in Austin, Texas, in February.  University of Texas at Austin School of Architecture dean Michelle Addington joined the celebration as a member of this year’s awards committee, appointed by the Texas Cultural Trust.

         The Texas Cultural Trust’s Texas Medal of Arts Award is the state’s most respected arts distinction.  Now in its tenth biennial year, the awards underscore the power of the arts to improve children’s education, contribute to the unique and proud cultural heritage of Texas, and stimulate the state’s economy.

         Molinar and Dykers, together with their colleagues, established the international architecture, landscape, and design studio Snøhetta in 1989.  In addition to their work with architecture and landscape, their studio includes numerous graphic and branding design projects and their work has been widely publicized throughout the world and received numerous international awards.  Both Molinar and Dykers have lectured and taught internationally and are members of several boards committed to cultural life.  The two graduated from the University of Texas in Austin School of Architecture during the 1980s, where they met.  They have been together and working together since that time, and have often been referred to informally as ambassadors of Texas in their work worldwide.

Please follow and like us: