Regional Design Awards

         There is no distance that great architectural design can’t conquer.  The American Institute of Architects Orange County Chapter has announced the architectural winners of its annual Design Awards.  These prestigious industry awards were presented online in a virtual format, with awards given to the most outstanding, environmentally conscious, and useful commercial and residential properties throughout California and beyond.

         Throughout its history, the Design Awards have celebrated the innovative solutions to the challenges facing California, regardless of project category, type, or budget.  A field of 76 projects were submitted for jury.  Among those, 21 properties or projects were awarded.  The ultimate goals of the jurors were to determine how buildings, both residential and commercial, perform for people.  All projects were evaluated on their potential to meet ten different frameworks of design excellence, including integration, community, ecology, water, economy, energy, wellness, resources, change, and discovery.

         The winning firms, for both commercial and residential projects built and unbuilt are: Anders Lasater Architects; Bastien & Associates Architects, Inc.; Ehrlich, Yahani, Rhee and Chaney Architects; Eordogh Zoltan Architect; Jacobs; LPA Inc.; McClean Design; MVE + Partners; Steinberg Hart; Westgroup Designs; WHA; and YNL Architects.  The President’s Award was given to Damon Dusterhoft, AIA.  A Service Award was given to Kathy Seaton Schmidt.  Finally, 25-Year Awards were given to one firm, LPA Inc., and to an individual architect, Mark Singer, AIA.

Please follow and like us: